|
SCAM 10
The ad
The first sign of this being a scam is the asking price of the atv. It is almost half the price of any other Honda 450ES for that year. Also, this ad is placed in the Edmonton section of the paper while the location of the seller is stated as Vancouver. Also the phone number area code is 751. There is no 751 area code in BC.
UPDATE 1: We are currently emailing this scam artist back and forth and will post the emails once we get some more information. This is to give you an idea of how they operate... Stay Tuned!
UPDATE 2 (August 10): Here are some emails we sent the scammer:
> ---------- Forwarded message ---------- >
From: O. P. < buna_dimineata123@yahoo.com >
> Date: Jul 21, 2005 2:36 PM
> Subject: Re: buysell.com Ad feedback
> To: Torrone <********@gmail.com
>
>
>
>
hello dave,
>
> we will do this deal with easy trade assist because any transaction I
> close is recorded by Easy Trade as i have a purchase protection
> account of 10,000.00$ that Easy Trade has access to, in case of any
> problem of the sale.Like you told,first you must send CAD 1650.00(half
> of the price) and after you receive the confirmation that the shipping
> is started you must send the other half,the payment details you must
> give to Easy Trade that they verify them first,if they are correct,
> keep until you will receive the quad. If you don´t like anything about
> it,you tell Easy Trade and you get your money back If you like it from
> the very moment you see it,we make the deal and you must tell to Easy
> Trade to give me the details of the first payment.
>
> Please mail me your full name and full address
> (street,city,zip,region) that i give it to Easy Trade and they will
> contact you and tell you about this deal.
>
> Thanks man
>
>
>
<*******@gmail.com
> wrote:
> thanx for getting back to me. ok so lets make this deal work.....kind
> of excited about the new purchase......are there any forms i need to
> fill out or money to transfer, etc.....could you let me know ...i'll
> be paying in one sum; 1/2 up front and 1/2 when the machine is
> confirmed as shipped. hope this is ok with you...let me know.
>
> Thanx for the help,
>
> Dave
>
> On 7/19/05, O. P. wrote:
>
>
>
> hello,
>
>
>
> first of all,the quad is still available.453 kms on it.also i want to tell
> > you that i left canada one week ago because i buy a new house in Chicago,IL >
> and i move here with my wife.i'm selling this quad because i'm a fresh daddy
> > and some toys must go from my garage.if you really want to have a deal don't
> > worry about the shipping because i will pay for it.
> > Thanks
>
> >
> > > *****@gmail.com wrote:
> > The following message was send to you from your ad on buysell.com:
> >
> > From: *****@gmail.com > >
> > Message: > >
> > Hi there, the machine looks great..thinking of upgrading my current machine,
> > is the machine still available and do i require a deposit, have never done
> > this before, all help is greatly appreciated. could you let me know via
> > email asap. Thanx, Dave
> >
> > For great classified ads, visit the Buy & Sell Online:
> > http://www.buysell.com
> >
> > ________________________________
> > Start your day with Yahoo! - make it your home page
> >
> >
> >
> __________________________________________________ > Do You Yahoo!?
> Tired of spam? Yahoo! Mail has the best spam protection around > http://mail.yahoo.com
|